Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

As the Holidays are coming, I plan to bombard you guys with several recipes for Christmas Cookies which I recently found is some magazines I use to buy and on the Internet. The first one is for the easiest and fast cookies I’ve ever done and the effect is fabulous.

IMG_0631

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter, softened (NO substitutes)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp. orange juice
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla
  • 2-1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder

Preparation:

In large bowl, beat butter with sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg, orange juice, and vanilla and beat well to combine. Sift flour and baking powder and add to butter mixture. Mix until a dough forms. (What I did actually is split the dough in half and added to one of the parts 1 spoon full cacao) Cover and chill dough until firm, about 2-3 hours.

You can use any forms that you wish. I have so many that sometimes it makes it difficult to choose which ones to use:)

IMG_0622I used star, tree, angel, heart and flower.

When the dough is cooled enough take it out of the fridge and start rolling it out until it becomes around half centimeters thick. Please have in mind that it will soon start to stick to the surface because of the butter, so please be quick. Heat the oven to 170C. Cut different forms and arrange them in a baking pan covered with baking paper. Please mind that the cookies need not more than 5 min baking as they are very thin. Soon after the edges are slightly brown, they are ready.

IMG_0628

I like them with icing ( which is not obligatory ) but just in case below are the ingredients:

  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 3/4 cup confectioners sugar (powdered sugar)

Mix the ingredients well. I personally used colors but they are pretty much beautiful if you don’t use any at all.

IMG_0634 IMG_0630

As I really love the smell of mandarins in winter I used some mandarin essential oil to aroma the room and combined it with a little bit of Ella Fitzgerald:) Please try it!

Enjoy!

IMG_0656

